Who is Quinn Perkins?

Chapter One

Love story between a Father and Daughter (Inspired by Tony Goldwyn’s Movie “Conviction”)

New Scandal Fan fiction

She wondered if any doctor would be able to treat her for Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. She was  just twenty two and she wondered how much more she could take. Days earlier her boyfriend Gideon Wallace was killed. She knew she shouldn’t get close to him but she wanted to be normal. She wanted to have a normal boyfriend, spend the night with him and eat his delicious grilled cheese. But no Quinn Perkins attracted bad luck. That was it; she would never get close to anyone ever again. Maybe it was better to be a cynic she thought.

The loud knock on her apartment door interrupted her chain of thoughts.

“Quinn open up”, Olivia Pope said as she knocked frantically.

“Go away.”

“No Quinn open up or I will break this door down.”

Reluctantly, Quinn opens the door. Olivia Pope was the woman she admired; her mysterious boss. She had heard so much about how Olivia Pope fixed people. She had taken college classes in high school and excelled at all she did. At twenty one she had finished law school from Georgetown University. It was no Harvard Law School but she worked her ass off. She wanted to be just like Olivia Pope.

“I am done Olivia, I am not like you”

“I know how you feel.”

“No you don’t I don’t even know who I am or where I am from.”

“I want to die you hear me die.”

“No Quinn you have to fight, because honestly it will not get better.”

“I am a nobody. I can’t make a difference. The two people that got close to me are dead. And it’s because I got close to them.”

“No Quinn you didn’t do that. It was beyond your control.”

“I told Amanda she could still make a difference in Washington. Maybe she called that psycho Billy Chambers and wanted out and paid with her life.”

“And Gideon…”

“I know how you feel.”

“No you don’t.”

“The image of him.”

“His blood… I can still smell it.”

“We had sex then he died”, Quinn says crying frantically.

Quinn was a pretty girl when she was her normal bubbly self. Her brown wavy locks complemented her brown eyes and warm face. She always believed the best in everyone. But now she didn’t know what was happening around her. Olivia wanted to comfort her. She deserved to know who she was but how could she tell her now and what good would it do.

“Who am I”, Quinn asks getting herself together.

“What do you mean?”

“Why were you looking for me and why did you give me the job?”

“Because,  I believe in you.”

“You know who I am .I want to know.”

“Your mother,” Olivia begins.

“I know who my real mother is. She was Kuwaiti. That’s why I understand Arabic. She used to speak and sing to me in Arabic”, she says carried away in the memory of her mother.

“I know Quinn but she was killed in that fire when you were twelve.”

“I know but she wanted to tell my father about me.”

“She had looked for him, sent letters and she tracked him down to America. He was a fly boy you know. “

“And even in foster home after foster home I promised myself I would find him.” “Did you know I’ve been raped at least twelve times by my foster brothers, fathers and uncles?”

“I hoped my real Dad would care and find me But he never came. He never came.”

Quinn had a look of despair on her face that broke Olivia’s heart.

“Quinn what happened to you is not your fault.”

“I try to block it out and be normal, but when this happened to Amanda and Gideon I remember I am bad luck.”

“My sweet mother Fatima was so beautiful but I killed her.”

“Did you know I started the fire?”

“You were a child; it’s not your fault.”

“You didn’t answer me Olivia, why did you give me the job?”

Olivia had always managed to be in control but at this moment as the young woman cries she breaks down. Her brown eyes are wide with compassion and tears. She was going through turmoil herself and her best friend Stephen had decided to skip town with his fiancée. He had told her he cheated but she was willing to fight for them and Stephen left. He said he was going back to Scotland and he was done. He said he would try normal. At that moment she was as vulnerable as she had ever been and decides it was time to tell Quinn the whole truth.

“The President is why you have this job.”

“What?”

“I gave you this job because of Fitz.”

“I don’t get it and why are you calling the president Fitz.”

It was too much for Olivia. She had just let go of the most important thing in her life and she did it for her country. It was the right thing to do but it felt so wrong. She couldn’t shake the feeling that it would be different this time. He looked cold and it seemed he had given up. The thing she loved most about President Fitzgerald Thomas Grant III was how empathetic he was. He could cry when watching a sad movie or just be angry at world leaders who violated human rights. He had said he wanted to help people and that was why he ran for president. She saw that innocence in Quinn. She had inherited that quality form Fitz. Olivia decided it was time to tell Quinn who she was.

“It’s him Quinn.”

“I don’t understand.”

“The president was stationed in Kuwait during the first Gulf War. He met your mother. Fatima Aliyu. He didn’t know about you Layla.He doesn’t know about you.”

“You know my real name.”

“Yes. I ran his campaign and we check everything. “

“We needed to know everything about him because when you are running from president you do not leave stones unturned. He told us about your mother.”

“This is ridiculous.”

“I am telling you the truth Quinn. I know your real name is Layla Aliyu Fitzgerald.”

“Have you wondered why your mother chose that name for you?”

“She said she liked what President John Fitzgerald Kennedy stood for.”

“We, Cyrus Beene and I knew about you, but the president doesn’t know yet.”

“This is crazy, you are crazy woman.”

“Next thing you’ll tell me is you called the Maury Show and my dna matches the President’s.”

“Quinn it’s a match.”

This was too much for her to assimilate.

“Ok if that’s true, when did I become Quinn Perkins?”

“You killed your foster brother when you were seventeen. He kidnapped you and raped you repeatedly and you got the courage and when he slept you bludgeoned him to death.”

The state sealed your records and you chose the name Quinn Perkins yourself.

“That’s why seeing you with another dead man who you had just had sex with would attract too much attention considering the first self defense homicide.”

“I think I am going to be sick.”

“Wait a minute but why do you care about my ‘father’. He slept with Amanda. We were going to war with him.”

“It’s complicated”, Olivia says turning away.

Quinn had just gotten an epiphany. It all made sense now. Olivia was distraught when she learned the president called Amanda ‘sweet baby’. She was just too emotionally involved in the Amanda Tanner’s situation.

“You had an affair with him. Oh my, that’s why you left the White House.”

“He slept with you and Amanda and he lied in front of the American people and you knew.”

“Quinn you don’t understand.”

“My father is a whore, a womanizer.”

“My mother said he was kind but he never replied her letter, not a single one.”

“He never looked back. He slept with my eighteen year old mother and never looked back.”

“He tried to look for her.”

“He fed you that lie Olivia.”

“My mother left Kuwait when I was eight not to be with him. But so I could know who he was.”

“I know.”

“Wait, so there’s more.”

“Your mother obviously kept his name from you for reasons best known to her but it came to my knowledge that she made contact with him in 2000 but couldn’t reach him.”

“That’s the year she died.”

“He was running for governor of California and it would have been a distraction.”

“I assume the person in charge of the campaign back then made sure your mother never spoke to the president.”

“How do I know he didn’t have her killed?”

“Olivia, how can you live with yourself?”

“He is probably responsible for my mother’s death.”

“Amanda and Gideon are dead because of him and you lied for him.”

“Who are you Olivia?”

“I need to see him.”

“That’s not a good idea .He doesn’t know Quinn.”

“I want him to look me in the eyes and tell me why he treated my mother that way.”

“He never received any letter Quinn.”

“He slept with her and never looked back.”

“I am not making excuses for him but within months of coming home, he married Mellie Grant, the First Lady.”

“Exactly, how do you claim you love someone and marry someone else  a few months later.”

“That didn’t stop him from cheating with you and Amanda Tanner.”

“You can’t stop me. I will see him.”

“Let’s talk about this Quinn.”

“Olivia, I quit and I want you to leave now.”

She saw a look in Quinn’s eyes that she had never seen and she knew she meant business.

What had she done? She would have to warn Fitz. She didn’t want to see him again. She dreaded how he would react to her knowing about his illegitimate daughter all this time. They had ended things for the country’s sake but this could be the biggest scandal yet. She wondered when this vicious cycle would end.

                                                                 

